Food Try-outs & Shenanigans

I have always been a foodie. Food not only connects people but brings so much pleasure in them. And I account for the many pleasures I’ve had because of food. And when it comes to pumping my appetite, I wear two hats: the comfort hat and the try-something-new hat. The comfort hat, I often settle for what I am used to and anything that makes me smile alone, while looking like a crazy fast food maniac. The try-something-new hat is triggered when I see something new, may it be a restaurant or a new selection in the menu. I often explore in this case. That’s just what I fancy.

Enough of my being a foodie. Whenever I explore restaurants and/or food, I always take the risk the cost and taste. It’s best to try something than not just to satiate my pleasure of knowing and tasting. In my solo, partner, or group food-ventures, I have come to realize some things about myself and the food world, whether the restaurant and food earn a thumbs-up or not.

They say that food marketing is trippy and tricky at the same time because it’s all about sales anyway. Restaurants and fast food both bring out something new for consumers to be intrigued. I am one with them.  There are times that I really like the food. There are also times that I get disappointed. But here are some a few insights on this food experience:

  1. You get to learn more about yourself as to what you fancy and pleasure. But tasting different kinds of food, even the new ones, make you gauge your level of happiness when it comes to food. What you thought was amazing in a fast food later you will think realize was nothing to the appetizer of a certain restaurant. There is change in one’s palate as experiences topple childhood fast food pleasures.
  2. You get to discretely know which restaurants make the best kind of food. At times, marketing makes it impossible for people to gauge. But with trying out new things, there is a point of comparison. An ambitious American fast food tries to copy Korean taste of a Korean fast food, which is undeniably incomparable.
  3. You get to freely savor the pleasure of just eating and tasting, and not even thinking. The beauty of trying something new for a change is the freedom to simply experience, taste, and savor. Just by sinking into a new burger delight and feeling that moment that you are simply doing it because no one else is asking you to do so just makes everything amazing.

What used to be an obligatory stint for an online magazine now became my personal escape. Food will always be people’s convergence. More than anything, the experience of trying out something new isn’t just about marketing ploy and complaining about how disappointing the food is. It’s about a personal gastronomic journey. There is more to what meets the eye and touches the palate.

What used to be an obligatory stint for an online magazine now became my personal escape. Food will always be people’s convergence. More than anything, the experience of trying out something new isn’t just about marketing ploy and complaining about how disappointing the food is. It’s about a personal gastronomic journey. There is more to what meets the eye and touches the palate.

Leave a Reply

