Teaching & Training

If there is one profession I can’t give up, that would be teaching. I once told myself right after college that I would become the best speaking teacher there is in any university, well, at my university just to size it all down. But brought about by the drive to work, earn, and experience the corporate world, I opted for the simplest teaching job with the most minimum requirements: online instruction. I started as an online English teacher. This was my foundation for teaching not because it was instructive, but rather, it started rough, elementary, and challenging. It was challenging as I had to teach English to Koreans and Japanese with the language difference and culture considered. I was rather successful being one, but I realized one day that I had to leave and start something different: the variant corporate world.

Working for an American background screening company was not easy,  as first, I had two work at night, and second, I will have to give up teaching and get on with the routine job of doing background checks. It lasted for a year until there was an opportunity for training. And to me, training wasn’t any different from teaching. The foundation is there anyway, so I tried getting the job; and just one day, after one interview and a demo teach session, the company gave me the job. All in my mind was that teaching is not any different from training. This idea helped me go on with a risky job in any company. It went smoothly, but I realized the two may not totally be similar.

Having been a trainer for a year now, I have learned and realized many things. These things I gained were not solely self-taught. I had to deal with people of different personalities. Training was not easy as I thought it would be. Teaching is not any different, but the real story goes beyond the confines of speaking, looking good, and imparting something. Everything should work and “make sense,” as I would always say to my trainees.

Teaching, is basically imparting new ideas, principles, or even theories the first time to any newbie. Once knowledge has been gained and processed, the individual is left on his or her own. Teaching is more of the preparation for the real story. The act of monitoring and knowing what happens to the individual is outside it.

Training on the other hand is almost the same as teaching. The only difference is the application and sustenance part. Training imparts the “what” in the process of work. But aside from this, skills are also transferred and seen done by trainees. Aside from this, beyond quizzes and tests, monitoring and evaluation of the effectiveness of the training is done. This is to see if indeed the training sessions did work in the efficiency of the individuals. Beyond the production and creation part post training, there is the sustenance in the form of refreshers and introduction to new processes. This makes training beyond just a matter of imparting concepts. It makes individuals transpire independently and more equipped.

Though I bring with me the Process Trainer title, I feel I should be called a teacher more than anything. Training is definitely something I can do and that I have grown to do all this time. But the ability to make the sessions worth remembering, worth attending, worth experiencing, and worth the time is beyond the trainer’s supposed duties. The teacher comes in not as an employee, but but someone who inspires, motivates, and makes everything clearer. Training gives the technicalities. But teaching lets everything make sense because explaining the rationale behind the process outside the training modules is not part of training; it is teaching.

Yes, indeed teaching is limited to just giving out what is ought to be known. Training is letting what is known work in the real story, in production. But letting the people work with gusto and drive since they know what the job means, what the process does, and how the structure works is the job of a teacher. Training is good, but teaching makes everything last for quite a while.

Photo Credit: [Featured photo: www.theguardian.com]

Leave a Reply

