Revisits Christmas

poinsettia

The poinsettia, technically termed euphorbia pulcherrima and named after Dr. J.R. Poinsett, will always be associated with the yuletide season. Even as a child,  I would visually consider it as the immediate reminder for Christmas. But now, it will serve as a reminder of what it was  like to me when things didn’t seem complex.

After 3 years of not coming home, I have finally made an impulse-driven decision of actually getting back home. I must admit that it was all motivated by the pressure I am getting and the expectations  I am seeing from my aunts. Never has it  been all about going back to where everything started. But the story turned out different.

Prior to my thoughts on how things went after my ambush arrival, I would like to point out two things that I have realized about the season. First is that people tend to move forward so fast that they seem to forget becoming their childlike selves, and this results in seeking for joys in wrong places and at the wrong time. Second is that everyone value the moments of wrapping,  unwrapping, receiving, and exchanging more than anything. Though this is a concrete act of loving,  this tends  to become the sole means to capture the season. Most would fall into the pit of getting the wrong notion of the act of giving.

Moving on to my thoughts,  I would say that one has to revisit that moment when everything seemed to be so simplistic and devoid of adult-life complications in order to understand the sense and essence of Christmas But by revisiting, one need not revert to that disposition in the past. By recalling how it felt like, one may see the essence in relation to how he or she thinks at the moment.

It felt so light and refreshing when I got back home. Seeing the house with a bit of change with the interiors, yet still seeing pieces that remind me of the past makes it inevitable to go back. And with this act, I got to realize what the essence of Christmas is.

In the general scope, it’s about the family. Extending it further, I would say it’s the company of people. To Christians, it’s the birth of Christ. But making sense of it in modern day, with different people believing in different sets of beliefs in life,  I would say it’s the compassion of people who matter to the individual.

My family is what’s making my yuletide season. The organic talks, the  meals together, my dad’s concern about my food, my mom’s attention to getting the best care she can give, my older brother’s constant share of what is going on make sense to me. It just feels different now that while I am  going back,  I am seeing the real meaning of Christmas. The necessity of present-giving is disproved to be the only means to celebrate. It didn’t feel imperative to abide with how people flow with the time when everything is  materialistic. It is rather freeing to revel over food, sweet drinks, a simple home-made dessert, and a good, unpretentious conversation.

Too cliched to say, but I think “there is no place like home,” and “going back to where you began makes it easier to move along.” In the time when being an adult invites one to never regress and just keep running,  it is good to step back a little in order to rest and take some nap after so many complications, in order to see a different scenario at present.

Christmas will always be the time of merry making. But at times, because of how things take on the strongest current today,  we get to lose sight of what it really is about. We may be  going through so much, but by leaning a bit and heading-resting for quite some time, we get to see things better. We feel better. We aspire better. We move on better.

Like the poinsettia, my home is my reminder now of where I should be standing during certain life events,  when it is but necessary for me to see beyond.

Photo Credit: [Featured photo: http://wordoriginsblog.wordpress.com, http://www.ncagr.gov%5D

Leave a Reply

