Santa is Real

santa-hat-vectorA clear reminder for me that the yuletide has come would be the lights at night, in malls, in the streets, at homes, and elsewhere. An undeniable fact that the Christmas craze has finally come is the mere showcase of decors and the looped jolly yuletide songs that would never wear off in time. The Christmas flowers, simply ponsetia, still remain to be my own symbol of the season. But more importantly, a nudge of the advent of the season would be the must-do shopping, thus the bustling and crowding in shops and stores.  Above all, nothing else best represents the “reveling” season except Santa Claus.

Basically, I didn’t grow up in a family where a fat old man clad in red, velvety robe with all the necessary details of the belt, the boots, and the hat was believed to totally round up the season. But, out of trend, I once believed that he truly exists .

One time, I woke up in the morning, when I was 5 or so, staring at some wrapped boxes on top of my mom’s creation of the nativity, which she termed the Belen. I would get excited because, yes, Mr. Claus has once again brought something for me. But because I was the kid who couldn’t silence oneself in satisfaction with anything unless questioned and made clear, I asked how he got into the house. So my dad would explain, as is the spiel as applicable to most goes, he came in through the chimney. But again, as the kid that I was, I asked where the chimney was when in fact, we didn’t have one. My dad would simply point at the ceiling and dismiss the case as some simplistic kid-like curiosity that can be outgrown in time. They thought it didn’t matter as it was just for the sake of doing something ornate for the season. But that moment for me was the death of Mr. Claus. He is not real, I told myself. I gave up my hopes for the old guy. So long as I still get presents, it didn’t matter so much anymore. I suddenly became a kid who’s practically thinking that for something to truly exist, it has to be first, seen, and second, reasonable.

And now, the season is nearing, I came to thinking about Mr. Claus again. Part of me is saying he could be real. But I withstood 20+ years of life believing in reality.  I have come to realize that the season is in essence a religious reenactment of the birth of Christ. I have also learned that believing in something mythical is clearly a form of paganism, well, at least to those who have locked in on their respective beliefs. And I have fully grasped the sole purpose of Mr. Claus, and that is to augment profits and production gains on the part of the enterprising and entrepreneur. Mr. Claus, I have told myself again, is simply the product of creative imagination, nonetheless, man’s creation for lateral benefits alone.

Recalling what I have across in one of my casual readings, there have been studies that have shown the psychological effects of the belief in Santa. Kids who are surveyed to believe in the mythical figure of Mr. Claus ended up more successful than those who didn’t. Psychology explains that when human’s ability to imagine is stretched out, there is then the potential to hold something unreal for any given circumstance, thereby bloating up hope and optimism. Thus, kids who believed in Santa Claus longer have become hopefuls amid hard times.

And so, I revisited where I was when I debunked Mr. Claus. The season may be filled with ostentatious celebrations of shopping, eating, and merry-making, but this time should not be explain in pragmatic terms nor should it be confined within religion solely. Believing in a thing or two that can’t be proven by seeing makes up this season. The reenactment of the nativity scene, the re-celebration of it, and the belief in a mythical figure in the form of Santa Claus is essentially for the purpose of justifying that there is definitely more to Christmas. Otherwise, everything will blatantly just be about the purchases and the wrapping, nothing more. Everything is left in faith, in the fresh imagination of children.

For those who believe in Christ, the season has a profound meaning. For those who don’t, it’s not just about the act of giving or merely getting heaps of gifts. It’s that happiness with families, friends, or colleagues, and such is made concrete in the character of Santa Claus. I can see him again this coming Christmas.

Often times, people truly need to create and recreate in order to understand and feel what is essential.

Photo Credit: [http://www.google-caffeine.com, Featured photo: www.halloweencostumes.com]

One Comment Add yours

  1. wwdnsdyy says:

    the rise of the guardians characters will always be real…in my heart. haha!

Leave a Reply

